At the project space: Harmonic Enterprise

Keti Kapanadze

Opening
Thursday, 31 January 2019, 7 p.m.

Introduction
Susanne Kleine, curator at Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn

Exhibition
1 February – 14 March 2019

Press text

Press:
Artforum International
Bonner General-Anzeiger, 2. März 2019
www.rhineart.com
Wall Street International, 21.02.2019

Tabletops hang on the walls, a bizarre jumping jack floats in the room and shiny metal letters comment on the events – the multi-faceted work of Keti Kapanadze (born 1962 in Tbilisi, Georgia, lives and works in Bonn), which began to emerge in patriarchal Georgia during the Soviet Union, ranges from conceptual drawings and sculptures to photography and video to large-format wall and room installations. In her oeuvre, the Georgian conceptual artist repeatedly deals with her own identity and her role as a woman and artist. She frequently uses everyday objects or phenomena and transforms them into new contexts through critical analysis.

New wall installations from deconstructed 1950s flower tables will be shown in the gallery’s project space. The artist transforms these everyday objects, which are increasingly associated with femininity, into two-dimensional installations on the wall. In Keti Kapanadze’s work we repeatedly encounter supposedly feminine attributes and allusions. They are particularly interested in the relationship between man and object and our ideas about design forms. What associations are connected with them? How do these objects affect us when they are detached from their original context and transferred into a new context? For this investigation Kapanadze chose the naïve kidney-shaped icons of the 1950s and creates autonomous, monumental symbols on the wall that grow into compositions resembling blueprints of chemical reactions in the human brain. In this way, the three-dimensionally layered form of the flower tables is transformed into a two-dimensional, rhizome-like network. In this new arrangement, the forms are freed from their hermetic existence and function. The installative compositions and newly created contexts produce humorous and emotional landscapes that describe a micro- and macrocosm of human existence.

The wall and room installations are accompanied by words and short sentences made of seductively shiny metal. Kapanadze uses words like ready-mades – like found objects whose intuitively emerging form is always in the foreground conceptually. Her metal works are cut out of nickel in a smaller format, mostly letters, words or short statements, sometimes even numbers. They appear playfully in the room or on the wall and humorously comment on the neighbouring works. The cold, clear material of nickel creates a strong contrast to the playful forms of wood. The artist is always interested in the diversity of information carriers and the question of what occupies our perception. We search for the principle of an efficient language, for a code, a sign, a symbol.

For her photo series “Harmonic Enterprise”, which has been running since 2016 and provides the title for her exhibition at the gallery, the artist asks friends and acquaintances – sometimes spontaneously – to be allowed to photograph her apartment or her studio. In these rooms alone, Kapanadze intervenes in the furnishings in just a few minutes, intuitively rearranging individual objects and finally pressing the camera’s shutter button. Compositions in strict black and white are created, which on closer inspection seem humorous. “Harmonic Enterprise #2” (2016) shows a tower of stacked chairs in the center of a barren interior. This is a woman’s apartment in a traditional old building in Tbilisi, Georgia. Kapanadze was amazed at the modesty and austerity of her living space. Perhaps the pyramidally stacked chairs in the centre of Kapanadze’s room testify to her desire to fill the void she found. The curtains in the background of the picture, which prevent us from looking out of the two windows, give the staging a theatrical moment. The viewer’s gaze concentrates solely on the reduced interior of the intimate private space. The second exhibited photograph “Harmonic Enterprise #14” (2016) was also taken in Georgia. Here Kapanadze also humorously placed found objects in the centre of the picture. The artist uses the medium of photography conceptually to document the sculptural moment.

Keti Kapanadze (born 1962 in Tbilisi, Georgia, lives and works in Bonn) first attended Art College in Tbilisi to study graphics and painting at the Tbilisi State Academy of Arts from 1984 to 1990. In the 1990s she was the first Georgian artist to work with feminist themes. In 2000, the conceptual artist emigrated to Germany in search of a fertile cultural environment. More recently, her work has received new attention through her participation in various exhibitions and fairs. Most recently, her works were shown in spring 2018 in a solo exhibition at the Georgian National Museum and the Tbilisi Silk Museum. Since 2008 works by the artist are part of the collection of the Moscow Museum of Modern Art (MMOMA).
Text: Helen Wobbe

Press text

Im Projektraum: Harmonic Enterprise

Keti Kapanadze

Eröffnung
Donnerstag, 31. Januar 2019, 19 Uhr

Einführung
Susanne Kleine, Kuratorin der Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn

Ausstellung
1. Februar – 14. März 2019

Tischplatten hängen an den Wänden, ein skurriler Hampelmann schwebt im Raum und glänzende Metallbuchstaben kommentieren das Geschehen – das facettenreiche Werk von Keti Kapanadze (geb. 1962 in Tiflis, Georgien, lebt und arbeitet in Bonn), das im patriarchalischen Georgien zur Zeit der Sowjetunion zu entstehen begann, reicht von konzeptuellen Zeichnungen und Skulpturen über Fotografie und Video bis hin zu großformatigen Wand- und Rauminstallationen. In ihrem Œuvre setzt sich die georgische Konzeptkünstlerin immer wieder mit der eigenen Identität und ihrer Rolle als Frau und Künstlerin auseinander. Dabei nutzt sie häufig alltägliche Gegenstände oder Phänomene und überführt diese in kritischer Analyse in neue Kontexte.

Im Projektraum der Galerie werden neue Wandinstallationen aus dekonstruierten Blumentischen der 1950er Jahre gezeigt. Diese Alltagsobjekte, die vermehrt mit Weiblichkeit in Verbindung gebracht werden, transformiert die Künstlerin an der Wand zu zweidimensionalen Installationen. Vermeintlich weibliche Attribute und Anspielungen begegnen uns in Keti Kapanadzes Werk immer wieder. Dabei interessieren sie vor allem das Verhältnis von Mensch und Objekt und unsere Vorstellungen über Designformen. Welche Assoziationen sind mit ihnen verbunden? Wie wirken diese Objekte auf uns, wenn sie aus ihrem ursprünglichen Kontext gelöst und in einen neuen Zusammenhang überführt werden? Für diese Untersuchung hat Kapanadze die naiven Ikonen der 1950er Jahre in Nierenform gewählt und lässt an der Wand autonome, monumentale Symbole entstehen, die zu Kompositionen anwachsen, welche Blueprints chemischer Reaktionen im menschlichen Gehirn ähneln. Aus der dreidimensional geschichteten Form der Blumentische entsteht auf diese Weise ein zweidimensionales, rhizomartiges Geflecht. In dieser neuen Anordnung sind die Formen von ihrer hermetischen Existenz und Funktion befreit. Die installativen Kompositionen und neu geschaffenen Zusammenhänge lassen humorvolle und emotionale Landschaften entstehen, die einen Mikro- und Makrokosmos der menschlichen Existenz beschreiben.

Die Wand- und Rauminstallationen werden von Wörtern und kurzen Sätzen aus verführerisch glänzendem Metall begleitet. Kapanadze nutzt Wörter wie Ready-mades – wie vorgefundene Objekte, deren intuitiv entstehende Form dabei konzeptuell stets im Vordergrund steht. Ihre Metallarbeiten sind im kleineren Format aus Nickel ausgeschnitten, meist Buchstaben, Wörter oder kurze Statements, manchmal auch Zahlen. Sie treten spielerisch im Raum oder an der Wand auf und kommentieren humorvoll die benachbarten Werke. Das kalte, klare Material des Nickels schafft einen starken Kontrast zu den verspielten Formen aus Holz. Der Künstlerin geht es immer wieder um die Vielfalt von Informationsträgern und die Frage, was unsere Wahrnehmung beschäftigt. Wir suchen nach dem Prinzip einer effizienten Sprache, nach einem Code, einem Zeichen, einem Symbol.

Für ihre seit 2016 fortlaufende Fotoserie „Harmonic Enterprise“, titelgebend für ihre Ausstellung in der Galerie, bittet die Künstlerin Freund*innen und Bekannte – manchmal ganz spontan –, ihre Wohnung oder ihr Atelier fotografieren zu dürfen. Allein in diesen Räumlichkeiten greift Kapanadze in wenigen Minuten in die Einrichtung ein, arrangiert intuitiv einzelne Gegenstände neu und drückt schließlich den Auslöser der Kamera. Es entstehen Kompositionen in strengem Schwarz-Weiß, die bei genauem Hinsehen humorvoll anmuten. „Harmonic Enterprise #2“ (2016) zeigt einen Turm von gestapelten Stühlen im Zentrum eines kargen Innenraums. Dabei handelt es sich um die Wohnung einer Frau in einem traditionellen, alten Gebäude in Tiflis, Georgien. Kapanadze war erstaunt über die Bescheidenheit und Kargheit ihres Wohnraums. Vielleicht bezeugen die pyramidal gestapelten Stühle im Zentrum des Raumes Kapanadzes Wunsch, die vorgefundene Leerstelle zu füllen. Durch die zugezogenen Vorhänge im Hintergrund des Bildes, die uns den Blick aus den beiden Fenstern verwehren, erhält die Inszenierung ein theatralisches Moment. Der Betrachterblick konzentriert sich allein auf das reduzierte Interieur des intimen Privatraums. Auch die zweite, ausgestellte Fotografie „Harmonic Enterprise #14“ (2016) entstand in Georgien. Humorvoll hat Kapanadze auch hier vorgefundene Gegenstände in den Bildmittelpunkt gerückt. Das Medium der Fotografie setzt die Künstlerin dabei konzeptuell zur Dokumentation des skulpturalen Moments ein.

Keti Kapanadze (geb. 1962 in Tiflis, Georgien, lebt und arbeitet in Bonn) besuchte zunächst das Art College in Tiflis, um von 1984 bis 1990 Grafik und Malerei an der Staatlichen Akademie der Künste Tiflis zu studieren. Sie war in den 1990er Jahren die erste georgische Künstlerin, die mit der feministischen Thematik arbeitete. Im Jahr 2000 emigrierte die Konzeptkünstlerin auf der Suche nach einer fruchtbaren kulturellen Umgebung nach Deutschland. In jüngerer Zeit erfuhr ihr Werk durch die Beteiligung an verschiedenen Ausstellungen und Messen neue Aufmerksamkeit. Zuletzt wurden ihre Arbeiten im Frühjahr 2018 in einer Einzelausstellung im Georgischen Nationalmuseum und im Seidenmuseum Tiflis gezeigt. Seit 2018 befinden sich Werke der Künstlerin im Moscow Museum of Modern Art (MMOMA).
Text: Helen Wobbe

Pressetext