Schönheit !?

Curated by Anne-Marie Bonnet
 
Stephan Baumkötter, Laurenz Berges, Karla Black, Ecke Bonk, Patrycja German, Michelle Grabner, Tamara Grcic, Alex Grein, Young-Jae Lee, Keti Kapanadze, Inga Kerber, Maik & Dirk Löbbert, Stefan Löffelhardt, Hannes Malte Mahler, Michaela Melián, Martin Pfeifle, Ivo Ringe, Heather Sheehan, Kiki Smith, Stefan Vogel
 
Opening
12 November 2019, 7 p.m.

Introduction
Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie Bonnet
 
Press text

Press:
Bonner General-Anzeiger
www.rhineart.com

Talk I
17 December 2019, 7 p.m.
Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie Bonnet, Kunsthistorisches Institut der Universität Bonn, Prof. Dr. Dr. Werner Gephart, Director of Käte Hamburger Kolleg “Recht als Kultur” der Universität Bonn, Prof. Michelle Grabner, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, artist
Talk II
21 January 2020, 7 p.m.
Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie Bonnet, Kunsthistorisches Institut der Universität Bonn, Prof. Stephan Baumkötter, Hochschule für Künste Bremen, Artist, Tamara Grcic, Artist, Prof. em. Dr. phil., Lic. theol. Friedhelm Mennekes, Prof. Dr. Rainer Schäfer, Institut für Philosophie, Universität Bonn

Beauty !?

Beauty is mystery, incentive to search, motivation, sensual and intellectual challenge. It can be a temptation, a trap, and yet it is the touchstone between existence and appearance. Does one see, feel, understand or recognise it? It can be felt, heard, lived and often instrumentalized. Mirror, mirror on the wall, tell me: What is beauty in art?

“La possibilité du plaisir peut-être un commencement de beauté.” (The possibility of pleasure is perhaps a beginning of beauty.) said Marcel Proust. Beauty as a promise: Who expects what from it? One encounters it in everyday life and in nature. When and how does one become aware of it? When do you allow it to happen, do you get involved with it? How many ways are there to beauty? Isn’t it a characteristic of good art to re-cartograph our sensitivity and sensibility, to open up new territories of thought? Jean de Loisy, curator of the exhibition ‘Beauty’ (Avignon, 2000): “La beauté est d’autant plus intéressante, plus vibrante et plus insolente, qu’elle élargit notre champ des sensiblité et qu’elle ouvre des territoires nouveaux” (Beauty is all the more interesting, vibrant and impertinent the more it expands the field of our sensations and opens up new territories).

In everyday life (advertising, cosmetics), the concept of ‘beauty’ is both instrumentally charged and emptied. In the world of art, it has been too classic, too idealized, too standardized, as it were taboo and ultimately eurocentric since the 20th century. André Breton said: “La beauté sera convulsive ou ne sera pas! (Beauty will be convulsive or not!) and still dared to argue with it, but only to redefine it against the clichés of academic expectations of ideality.

The exhibition ‘Beauty!?’ now dares the first artistic occasions to exchange views on whether and, if so, how fine art is able to negotiate beauty.
Anne-Marie Bonnet

Special thanks to Ecke Bonk for the artistic design of the invitation card.

Thanks to
Galerie Gisela Capitain, Barbara Gross Galerie, Jahn und Jahn, Aurel Scheibler, Galerie Anke Schmidt

13.11.2019 - 23.01.2020

Schönheit !?

Kuratiert von Anne-Marie Bonnet

Stephan Baumkötter, Laurenz Berges, Karla Black, Ecke Bonk, Patrycja German, Michelle Grabner, Tamara Grcic, Alex Grein, Young-Jae Lee, Keti Kapanadze, Inga Kerber, Maik & Dirk Löbbert, Stefan Löffelhardt, Hannes Malte Mahler, Michaela Melián, Martin Pfeifle, Ivo Ringe, Heather Sheehan, Kiki Smith, Stefan Vogel

Eröffnung
12. November 2019, 19 Uhr

Einführung
Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie Bonnet

Pressetext

Presse:
Bonner General-Anzeiger
www.rhineart.com

Talk I
17. Dezember 2019, 19 Uhr
Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie Bonnet, Kunsthistorisches Institut der Universität Bonn, Prof. Dr. Dr. Werner Gephart, Direktor des Käte Hamburger Kollegs „Recht als Kultur“ der Universität Bonn, Prof. Michelle Grabner, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Künstlerin
Talk II
21. Januar 2020, 19 Uhr
Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie Bonnet, Kunsthistorisches Institut der Universität Bonn, Prof. Stephan Baumkötter, Hochschule für Künste Bremen, Künstler, Tamara Grcic, Künstlerin, Prof. em. Dr. phil., Lic. theol. Friedhelm Mennekes, Theologe, Prof. Dr. Rainer Schäfer, Institut für Philosophie, Universität Bonn

Schönheit !?

Schönheit ist Rätsel, Anreiz zur Suche, Ansporn, sensuelle und intellektuelle Herausforderung. Sie kann eine Versuchung, eine Falle sein, und ist doch der Prüfstein zwischen Sein und Schein. Sieht, fühlt, weiß oder kennt man sie? Sie kann gespürt, gehört, gelebt werden und wird vielfach instrumentalisiert. Spieglein, Spieglein an der Wand, sag mir: Was ist Schönheit in der Kunst?

„La possibilité du plaisir peut-être un commencement de beauté.“ (Die Möglichkeit des Vergnügens ist vielleicht ein Anfang von Schönheit.) sagte Marcel Proust. Die Schönheit als ein Versprechen: Wer verspricht sich was davon? Man begegnet ihr im Alltag und in der Natur. Wann und wie wird man ihrer gewahr? Wann lässt man sie zu, lässt sich auf sie ein? Wie viele Wege gibt es zur Schönheit? Ist es nicht eine Eigenschaft guter Kunst, unsere Sensitivität und Sensibilität neu zu kartographieren, neue Territorien des Denkens zu öffnen? Jean de Loisy, Kurator der Ausstellung ‚Schönheit‘ (Avignon, 2000): „La beauté est d’autant plus intéressante, plus vibrante et plus insolente, qu‘elle élargit notre champ des sensiblité et qu’elle ouvre des territoires nouveaux“ (Die Schönheit ist umso interessanter, vibrierender und unverschämter, je mehr sie das Feld unseres Empfindens erweitert und neue Gebiete eröffnet.)

Im Alltag (Werbung, Kosmetik) ist das Konzept ‚Schönheit‘ zugleich instrumentell aufgeladen und entleert. In der Welt der Kunst ist es seit dem 20. Jahrhundert, da zu klassisch, zu idealisiert, zu normiert, gleichsam tabu und letztlich eurozentrisch determiniert. André Breton sagte: „La beauté sera convulsive ou ne sera pas!“ (Die Schönheit wird konvulsiv sein oder nicht sein!) und traute sich noch, mit ihr zu argumentieren, allerdings nur, um sie gegen die Klischees akademischer Erwartungen von Idealität neu zu definieren.

Die Ausstellung ‚Schönheit!?‘ wagt nun doch erste künstlerische Anlässe, sich darüber auszutauschen, ob und, wenn ja, wie Bildende Kunst Schönheit zu verhandeln vermag.
Anne-Marie Bonnet

Unser besonderer Dank gilt Ecke Bonk für die künstlerische Gestaltung der Einladungskarte.

Dank an
Galerie Gisela Capitain, Barbara Gross Galerie, Jahn und Jahn, Aurel Scheibler, Galerie Anke Schmidt

13.11.2019 - 23.01.2020