Where I End and You Begin

SOLO SHOW
Where I End and You Begin
Caroline McCarthy
Introduction: Jerome O Drisceoil

Opening: 26 June 2019, 6 p.m.

Exhibition: 27 June – 20 September 2019

Galerie Gisela Clement is pleased to present solo exhibitions of Werner Haypeter and Irish artist Caroline McCarthy at the same time on. Both deal with the architecture of the exhibition space and measure it in radically different ways.

In the site-specific installation of everyday products such as straws and cable clamps, Caroline McCarthy creates a line drawing spanning all walls, which guides the viewer’s gaze and allows him to enter into a dialogue with art and architecture. In her installations and pictures, she deals with historically grown values of art and artists and at the same time comments on our consumer behaviour.

Caroline McCarthy (*1971 in Dublin, lives and works in London) studied from 1989 – 1994 at the National College of Art and Design, Dublin, and completed her art studies in 1998 with a Master of Fine Art at Goldsmiths College, London. Since the 1990s the artist has been shown internationally in many solo and group exhibitions, including IMMA Dublin, MMCA Thessaloniki, Whitechapel Gallery, London and Green on Red Gallery, Dublin. Her works are represented in the collections of the Irish Museum of Modern Art, the Arts Council of Ireland, the Zabludowicz Collection, the European Central Bank and the Colección Bergé, Madrid.

Thanks to Green on Red Gallery, Dublin.

Where I End and You Begin

Im Obergeschoss
SOLO SHOW
Where I End and You Begin
Caroline McCarthy

Eröffnung
Mittwoch, 26. Juni 2019, 18 Uhr

Einführung
Jerome O Drisceoil

Ausstellung
27. Juni – 15. Oktober 2019

Dank an Green On Red Gallery, Dublin

Die Galerie Gisela Clement freut sich gleichzeitig Einzelausstellungen von Werner Haypeter und der irischen Künstlerin Caroline McCarthy zu präsentieren. Beide setzen sich mit der Architektur des Ausstellungsraums auseinander und vermessen ihn auf radikal unterschiedliche Weise.

In der ortspezifischen Installation “Where I End and you Begin” schafft die Künstlerin aus alltäglichen Produkten wie Strohhalmen und Kabelklemmen eine alle Wände umspannende Linienzeichnung, die den Blick des Betrachters führt und ihn in einen Dialog mit Kunst und Architektur eintreten lässt. In ihren Installationen und Bildern setzt sie sich mit historisch gewachsenen Wertvorstellungen von Kunst und Künstler auseinander und kommentiert gleichzeitig unser Konsumverhalten.

Caroline McCarthy (*1971 in Dublin, lebt und arbeitet in London) studierte von 1989 – 1994 am National College of Art and Design, Dublin, und schloss 1998 Ihr Kunststudium mit dem Master of Fine Art am Goldsmiths College, London ab. Seit den 90er Jahren wurde die Künstlerin international in vielen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt, darunter im IMMA Dublin, MMCA Thessaloniki, Whitechapel Gallery, London und Green on Red Gallery, Dublin. Ihre Arbeiten sind u. a. in den Sammlungen des Irish Museum of Modern Art, des Arts Council of Ireland, der Zabludowicz Collection, der Europäischen Zentralbank oder der Colección Bergé, Madrid vertreten.